Influential Counsel

It’s so easy for me to talk to God than be vulnerable with the people in my life. My rational is “well God won’t judge me and he won’t mislead me”. Given my past experiences, I am careful to not make a bad choice that I try not to act without the prompting of the spirit. I have learnt that operating out of my emotions can be misleading and not the best for me or the situation. When I do, I feel real bad and immediately I ask for forgiveness. Then I ask God to show me where the triggers are and what  responses I still need to work on.

Godly Counsel

It’s important to have people in our lives that will influence us within the parameters of the word of God. These people should be our covenant brothers or sisters, keep them near. Those that we trust to be mature enough to say things not out of there feelings but in response to the way of the Lord. The Holy Spirit is also our comforter and counselor so we should seek God first and search for scriptures that relate to our present issue, before we seek the counsel of others as well. 2 Timothy 3:16-17 backs this, it says “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”

‭It’s therefore important that we be careful about what we accept into our spirit. Negative responses can throw us off course and is not of God. It is so easy to go to others for ungodly counsel to be vulnerable with them because they tell us what we want to hear, they take our side. So for a change let’s seek after Godly counsel the way of the Lord is the only fulfilling way, our life submitted to him as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable.

“Blessed is the man Who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, Nor stands in the path of sinners, Nor sits in the seat of the scornful; But his delight is in the law of the LORD, And in His law he meditates day and night. He shall be like a tree Planted by the rivers of water, That brings forth its fruit in its season, Whose leaf also shall not wither; And whatever he does shall prosper.”

‭‭Psalms‬ ‭1:1-3‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

To be vulnerable with someone we have to trust them enough with our emotions and our life. The counsel of the Godly is therefore important. Personally if I don’t tell someone about my life I don’t trust their counsel. It’s also important to learn who to trust and that will come as we build relationships with wise people of God.

Blessings! continue to press forward in the lord.

Leave a Reply

